This message is designed to self-construct.

WARNING:  SHOULD YOU CONTINUE READING THIS POST, YOUR PARTICIPATION IS HEREBY REQUESTED.

How do you use your sustainability mojo?  Please take a moment to send me a note, short is sweet, that describes any one action (or adventure or thing) that you commit to doing to help make the world a more sustainable place for people and the planet.  It’s your mojo, sustaina-baby, yeah.

Like how I just sashay into a juice bar with my own refillable steel canteen, and I’m like–fill’er up.

You’ll receive notice of these “mojo cocktails” when you subscribe to my blog for updates.

By sharing your commitments to sustainability, you are helping stir-up alternatives and ideas that empower healthier communities, businesses and nature alike.  Yeah, baby, yeah.

About C. Sala Hewitt

C. Sala Hewitt
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

7 Responses to This message is designed to self-construct.

  1. mj says:

    i commit to never buying a plastic bottle of water for myself. never ever. MJ (Fastgirls)

  2. rootsinwater says:

    my sustainamojo thingey is this: I have breastfed a baby for nearly 2 years without using so much as an ounce of formula. No trees, no cows, goats, soybeans, cans, labor, capiltalist mark-ups, oil, water, media airtime, none of that. For the first 6 months, he breastfed exclusively, so it was just me, growing my baby with my milk. That’s pretty sustainable, and I’m not a magician, I’m just a woman and we can all do it with the proper support!

    Aisha Domingue, Brooklyn

  3. rootsinwater says:

    I’m an Environmental Engineer who’s been hired to be a consultant to Vokashi Kitchen Waste Solution, a woman-owned, Brooklyn-based composting company. Instead of employing your more traditional methods of compost bins and vermiculture, Vokashi is a unique composting service for households and small businesses using the Japanese method of fermenting organic matter, called bokashi.

    As the consultant, I assist with the development of educational classes in the simple art of fermenting food waste, and introducing the range of applications of effective microorganisms. Teaching our youth about recycling food waste, particularily in communities of color and economically disadvantaged communities, is such an important link to environmental justice work. I also table at green fairs, farmers markets, and network at environmental forums.

    The idea is that when you’re more consciously connected to your waste stream, you are aware of how much you generate, how you can reduce that volume, and how you can reuse what’s left. Reduce, Reuse, Recycle! Check out the Vokashi website, here: http://www.Vokashi.com

    I’ll leave you with a quote from one of my favorite environmental scholars, Vandana Shiva:
    “Soil microorganisms maintain soil structure, contribute to the biodegradation of dead plants and animals, and fix nitrogen. They are the key to soil fertility.” – Soil not Oil

    Donna U. Hope, LEED GA
    Consultant, Vokashi Kitchen Waste Solution
    email: Donna@Vokashi.com

  4. rootsinwater says:

    I pick up trash in public as often as I can. Just yesterday I was hiking and saw two bags of dog poop and took them down the mountain with me—it was hard but it’s all in the spirit of getting what I put out. So I ask myself what kind of world do I want to experience? One that has vistas and views unobstructed by trash, so how do I get that–give it to others! 🙂

    Abigail Allen, Colorado

  5. rootsinwater says:

    My sustainability mojo is recycling! Recycle recycle recycle!

    Peace & blessings,
    Pauline

  6. rootsinwater says:

    S. Flynn, New York City

  7. alexandra Johnston says:

    I own 2 bikes but not a car, and I live in California.

Leave a Reply

