Do try this at home: Autumnal Sweet Potato Pie Smoothie

My taste palate is inextricably tied to Southern US, specifically Louisiana culinary traditions.  Around this time of year, I always get nostalgic for sweet potato pie.   Being somewhat a sweet-potato pie snob, I rarely pick up a pie from the grocery.  Sadly, I haven’t even perfected my own baked pie–I just haven’t gotten my aunt’s recipe right!  However, I have adopted my favorite sweet potato pie flavors to my favorite food group:  smoothie! 

If you’re longing for the signature taste of fall without the baking fall-out, try this at home:

Cook your sweet potato beforehand.  Chill (or at least room temperature).

Cut up the potato for the blender

Add a 1/4 cup OJ

Add 1/2 – 1 cup milk alternative (rice, soy, almond, etc.), could use milk if you like, or yogurt

2-3 Tblsp of agave

Few dashes of cinnamon.  Dash of nutmeg

Blend and Add liquid until reach desired textured.

Drink up!

About C. Sala Hewitt

C. Sala Hewitt
This entry was posted in Good Food & Recipes and tagged , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

